Digital marketing can be fun, but it can be confusing, too. How many times have you had to look up multiple words when reading just one article? This guide is for those who know the basics, but are still learning. Here are some uncommon terms in online marketing that you should know.
Abandonment rate refers to the percentage of people who leave a web page without visiting another page on the same site, also called the ‘bounce rate’. The second definition refers to the ratio of people who have added items to their shopping cart but opted not to complete the checkout process, over the total number of people who have picked items and completed their purchase, including those who didn’t complete the purchase.
The alt (short for alternative) text, also known as “alt attributes” or “alt descriptions”, appears when you hold your mouse over an image on a website. The alt text is used to describe the appearance and uses of an image so that, when the image cannot be loaded, this text will appear instead. It is also helpful for visually impaired users who use screen-reading software when browsing the web; this information can be read by the software, allowing these visitors to better understand the image on the web page.
This term was derived from the fairy tale, Hansel and Gretel, in which breadcrumbs were used to form a trail back to Hansel and Gretel’s home. Similar to this story, breadcrumbs are used on websites to make it easier for users to trace their path from their current location in relation to the website’s structure.
Customer Acquisition Cost (CAC) is the cost of convincing a customer to buy a product or service. For instance, if a business owner spends $100 on marketing one year and is able to acquire 100 customers within the same year, then the CAC would be $1.00.
CNAME stands for Canonical Name, also referred to as Canonical Domain. A CNAME works as an alias for domains. If your domain is mywebsite1.com, and you point the content of mywebsite2.com to it, people who type mywebsite1.com on their web browser’s URL box will see the content from mywebsite2.com.
Also known as a ‘bot’ or ‘spider’, a crawler is the term typically used to refer to a software used by search engines such as Google, Bing, and Yahoo, to explore the Internet to locate and index websites. A crawler is used to explore website content, capture information, then take this to the search engine to be included in the search engine’s database.
Downsell is a sales strategy of selling your customer something more affordable after they rejected your main product or offer. For example, if you are selling a box of cookies for $25 and customers said that it costs too much, you give them another less expensive option like a slightly smaller and less expensive box.
Evergreen content is timeless and valuable to the readers long after its publication. When you write about something that provides informative, high-quality content, such as a guide or a set of tips for doing something, this will be valuable to people reading it, regardless of whether they have read it immediately after the content was published or five years after.
A hero image is a large banner image often spread across the width of the web page. This is often the first graphic image seen by a person when he (or she) visits a website.
Lead nurturing is the practice of developing a series of online communications, such as emails and social media messages, to keep leads engaged while gradually motivating them to purchase your product or service.
A Learning Management System (LMS) is a software application used to manage online educational courses or training programs. Similar to a Content Management System (CMS), which allows users who have little to no technical skills to easily build and manage websites without learning to code, an LMS makes it easy to create and manage online educational programs for those who have no programming knowledge.
In search engines, a long-tail keyword is a very targeted search phrase that typically contains three or more words. It usually includes a head term, which is a more generic search term, and one or two additional words that refine the search term. An example of a head term is “roses” and the long-tail keyword is “red roses online”. Since long-tail keywords are more specific, they are usually associated with a lower number of searches. However, people who are searching for long-tail keywords are typically more qualified and more likely to convert.
Marketing automation refers to the process of automating marketing tasks, such as emails, social media posts, and other website actions. Instead of manually creating and implementing marketing tasks, marketing automation tools open an easy and efficient way to organize, manage, and execute every task of marketing campaigns.
The meta description is an HTML tag that describes the meaning of the webpage. The meta description, like the title tag, is not visible when users view a webpage; it is displayed below the title in search results and in previews when a link to a page is shared in social media channels.
Monthly Recurring Revenue (MRR) is the amount of income that companies can anticipate every 30 days, if they provide services to customers through an ongoing contractual relationship.
A nofollow link is a hyperlink that has a “nofollow” attribute, which tells search engines that the link should not be followed or counted as a vote of confidence. In SEO (search engine optimization), links going to a particular web page increase its value and, consequently, improve its rank in search results. When a nofollow HTML code is added to a link, no added value is given to the web page associated with that link.
NoIndex is a value used to tell search engines like Google or Bing not to index a webpage. When a web page is not indexed, this means that people will not find it in search results.
Opt-in rate refers to the ratio of people who sign up for your email list divided by the total number of visitors on your website.
Pay Per Action (PPA) is a pricing model in which advertisers only pay for a completed action such as a confirmed sale, email subscription, or inbound sales enquiry.
Quality score is a grading system used by Google to determine an ad’s relevance to a searcher in certain circumstances/scenarios: if it were to be shown in the sponsored space of the search results, in which position within the space it would be shown, and how much the advertiser should pay for each click.
This term refers to the process of generating a visual representation of specific content. For example, different devices like laptops, smartphones, and tablets “render” the same content (an email or web page) very differently because of their size and formatting.
Remarketing / Retargeting
Remarketing, also known as retargeting, is a form of online advertising that enables sites to show targeted ads to repeat visitors of their website or mobile app. You might have noticed that, when you visit a website of a particular product or service, you see this website’s ad when you browse other websites.
The root domain is the highest level within the hierarchy of a site. An example of a root domain is mywebsite.com. Within the root domain are the subdomains and URLs.
Social proof refers to the way people’s perception of a product or service is influenced by the size and quality of its following.
Secure Sockets Layer (SSL) is an encryption technology that creates a safe connection between the web server (which stores all the files that make up a website) and the visitors’ web browsers (like Google Chrome or Internet Explorer). Thanks to SSL, private information can be transmitted without the risk of eavesdropping, data tampering, and message forgery.
At times a root domain contains subdivisions, or subdomains, to cover different languages, regions, or content. If your existing domain name is www.mywebsite.com, your subdomain could be fr.mywebsite.com (content for France/French language) or forums.mywebsite.com (covers content for forums).
User Interface (UI) is a broad term for any space that allows a user to connect with a particular technology. UI can either be physical or software-based. Any different kinds of user interfaces come with various devices and software programs.
User Experience (UX) is the overall experience of a customer with a particular business, from the time he (or she) became aware of the brand all the way through the purchase and use of the product or service.
WYSIWYG is an acronym for “What You See Is What You Get”, which refers to an editor allowing the user to see how the finished product would look like as they edit the text and graphic content.
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